WCC logo

News & Events

Friday, October 18, 2019

Nursing graduates participate in traditional pinning ceremony

  • Kelly Gampel Nursing graduate Meghan Hendershot speaks on behalf of her class.
  • Kelly Gampel WCC Director of Nursing Dr. Joanne Yastik places a pin on a graduate.
  • Kelly Gampel The graduating class recites the Nightingale Pledge.

Family and friends of 62 Washtenaw Community College nursing program graduates filled Towsley Auditorium on Wednesday evening for the Spring Graduate Nurse Pinning Ceremony.

The pinning of nursing graduates is a time-honored tradition that represents the initial initiation into the profession. The evening also included student reflections from Meghan Hendershot and Aleen Martinez, two graduates selected by the class to speak on their behalf.

RELATED: Photo album from the Nursing Pinning Ceremony

WCC Director of Nursing Dr. Joanne Yastik placed a WCC nursing pin on each graduate, followed by a symbolic passing of the torch from current and former nurses to the newcomers, and the recitation of the Nightingale Pledge, a statement of the ethics and principles of the nursing profession named in honor of Florence Nightingale.

The Spring 2019 nursing graduates include:

  • Donna Addison
  • Allison Alexander
  • Selamawit Azmera
  • Sierra Bell
  • Ronni Benedict
  • Casey Boik
  • Amanda Budry
  • Jacob Deardorff
  • James Downing
  • Misty Duffing
  • Paige Dunn
  • James Goff
  • Alfredo Gonzalez-Silva
  • Nicole Edger
  • Lindsay Elkins
  • Adam Freeney
  • Holleigh Frey
  • Jason Harper
  • Meghan Hendershot
  • Victoria Heumann
  • Kelsey Jackson
  • Habib Jouaidi
  • Holly Justman
  • Megan Kelly
  • Dwayne King
  • Grace Komasara
  • Samantha Kruger
  • Zachary Kujawski
  • Daniel Kutaish
  • Alyssa Kurzyniec
  • Heather Lancaster
  • Shania Lawson
  • Jennifer LeBlanc
  • Liang Lin
  • Catherine Mackey
  • Fatima Malik
  • Robert Marshall
  • Aleen Martinez
  • Joseph McMurray
  • Sandra Melvin
  • Sha’Quice Mullany
  • Cassandra Nesti
  • Megan Osborne
  • Lauren Peace
  • Daniel Pratt
  • Briana Pullen
  • Michael Purta
  • Shannon Rednour
  • Emily Regan
  • Madeleine Rivard
  • Caitlyn Ryan
  • Samantha Salvadori
  • Nicole Scally
  • Carolyn Seabury
  • Abby Smith
  • Danielle Smith
  • Julia Smith
  • Mandy Sullivan
  • Sara Truhn
  • Angela Vaginetti
  • Kailyn Vitale
  • Mackenzie Waterhouse

On The Record

About Us

Mission, Values, and Vision

Office of the President

On The Record

For media inquiries, contact:

Susan Ferraro
Director Media Relations

Search for News

Suggest a Story

To suggest a topic that you’d like to read about, please complete our brief form. Thanks!

Feedback & Suggestions / Social Media Directory
Online Privacy Statement | Notice of Nondiscrimination