Accreditation is important because it assures the public of the integrity and quality of WCC's programs and services, ensures that the college can hire highly qualified faculty and staff, enables students to obtain financial aid and veteran's services, and allows the college to receive funding through federal grants.

Six regional agencies provide institutional accreditation on a geographical basis: Middle States, New England, North Central, Northwest, Southern, and Western.

Washtenaw Community College is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC).

Higher Learning Commission:

30 N. LaSalle St, Suite 2400, Chicago, IL 60602
[email protected]

Washtenaw Community College:

For information concerning Washtenaw Community College please contact WCC directly at 734-973-3300.

The Accreditation Process

Washtenaw Community College has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of NCA since 1973.

College and universities are evaluated every ten years and/or periodically as necessary to maintain accreditation.

WCC is currently undergoing a two-year comprehensive self-study process, which will culminate in a self-study report submitted to the Commission and in a visit in October 2009 from peer reviewers representing HLCNCA.

The goals of the review team will be to evaluate and confirm how well all areas of the college meet the criteria for accreditation, and to provide advice on how the college might improve its programs and services in the future.