WCC Trustees, President Receive Equity Award

Published on Oct 16, 2013 1:07pm

The WCC Board of Trustees and Dr. Rose Bellanca, the College’s president, have been awarded the 2013 Central Regional Equity Award by the Association of Community College Trustees. The award will be presented at the 44th annual ACCT Leadership Congress this October in Seattle.

The prestigious award recognizes colleges that demonstrate a commitment to fostering opportunities for diverse populations through educational partnerships, student success strategies, and in hiring practices for faculty and staff.

“Assuring equity in all facets of the College’s operations, services, and programs is the guiding principle behind all our decisions,” said Anne M. Williams, chair of the WCC Board of Trustees. “On behalf of the entire board, we are deeply honored to receive this award.”

The elected, seven-member WCC Board of Trustees and Bellanca have maintained the College’s long and successful history of serving the diverse populations of Washtenaw County, reaching out to communities that surround the College with programs designed to enhance high school graduation rates, open doors to college coursework, and identify employment opportunities.

“It is my privilege to work in partnership with the WCC Board of Trustees,” said Bellanca. “To be recognized for our collective efforts to make the mission of WCC come alive is a remarkable feeling. I want to thank each one of them for being exemplary role models for our community and acknowledge how tirelessly they work to ensure there are no barriers that can hinder a WCC student’s success in the classroom.

“Additionally, they maintain an unwavering commitment to provide equity among their fellow trustees, the WCC executive leadership, and our faculty and staff. Simply put, their work is reflected everywhere you look on our campus.”

Members of the WCC Board of Trustees are:

  • Anne M. Williams, chair
  • Patrick McLean, vice chair
  • Mark Freeman, secretary
  • Pamela J. Horiszny, treasurer
  • Stephen J. Gill
  • Richard J. Landau
  • Diana McKnight-Morton