Eleven WCC digital video students nominated for Student Production Awards

April 5, 2023 Rich Rezler


Eleven projects created by students in Washtenaw Community College’s Digital Video program have been nominated for a Student Production Award from the Michigan chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Student Production Awards logoWinners will be announced on Sunday, April 23 during an awards ceremony at the Michigan State University Communication Arts and Sciences Building on Sunday, April 23. The event also includes a “Meet the Pros” session where students will have a Q&A session with three Emmy Award-winning broadcast journalism and production professionals.

The awards are open to all two-year and four-year institutions in the Michigan. The eleven nominations of WCC student work is second only to Michigan State University (18). Other nominees were earned by students from Ferris State University (10), Calvin University (3), Mott Community College (3), Hope College (2) and the University of Michigan (2). There is also a high school division of the Student Production Awards. (See all nominations.)

WCC nominations include:

Non-Fiction Short-Form: “Calling,” by Amelia Martell

Non-Fiction Short-Form: “Queer Coded,” by Dakota Keedle

Non-Fiction Short-Form: “Kosmo’s Bop Shop, The Story of Don Kwon,” by Linus Brush-Mindell

Non-Fiction Long-Form: “Arcade Apartment,” by Marceline Keedle

Music Video: “Blind,” by Tim Giese

Fiction Short-Form: “Croc’d,” by Paige Cummins

Fiction Short-Form: “Wind,” by David Clipner

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects: “I’m Still Here (Trailer),” by Nehemiah Harmsen

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects: “Life After it Rains,” by Tina Pham

Director: “Bob & Ingraham Make a Pilot,” by Bob Fike

Photographer: “Detroit Become Human: The Unknowns,” by Cory Konjarevich

WCC Digital Video students have won 39 first-place prizes at the Student Production Awards since first entering the contest in 2012. Last year’s five first-place trophies matched a program-best haul, matched in 2019 and 2014.

Tags: Digital Media Arts, Digital Video Production, Student Awards, Student Production Awards

Take the
Next Step