Award of Merit Recipients

The extraordinary contributions of community persons to the advancement of WCC and its mission are recognized annually through a Board of Trustees "Award of Merit". Recipients symbolize the true meaning of the College through their exceptional and long-term commitment to help make WCC an outstanding institution of higher learning. The award winners are worthy role models for WCC students and for the citizens of Washtenaw County.

The Award of Merit is the highest honor given by WCC and parallels the honorary degree that is offered by baccalaureate institutions. It is presented at the spring commencement exercises in the form of a medallion.

 Merit Recipients

Year Recipient(s)
1989 Howard Holmes
1990 Dr. and Mrs. Harry Towsley, Dr. Morris J. Lawrence, Jr.
1991 Dick and Norma Sarns
1992 Henry Landau
1993 Tony Procassini
1994 Molly Dobson
1995 Ann Kettles
1996 Elvira Vogel
1997 James W. Anderson, Jr.
1998 Gunder A. Myran
1999 Jean Campbell
2000 Ruth H. Moorman
2001 R. Griffith MacDonald
2002 Nancy Margolis
2003 William J. Davis, Jr.
2004 Dr. Richard W. Bailey
2005 Dr. H. Richard Crane
2006 Calla Fette
2007 Gerald D. Jernigan
2008 William D. Kinley
2009 Margaret A. Talburtt
2010 Richard and Marie Duke
2011 David Rutledge
Swipe left to see full chart

Morris J. Lawrence Award & Recipients