Morris J. Lawrence Award and Recipients

On June 14, 1994, the Washtenaw Community College Board of Trustees adopted a resolution in memory of Dr. Morris J. Lawrence, Jr. Dr. Lawrence was a faculty member in the Performing Arts Department of the College; he died unexpectedly in January 1994. The resolution declared the creation of an award in his honor and set the criteria for the selection of recipients of the award.

The selection of individuals will be based on the following criteria embodied by the late Morris J. Lawrence, Jr.:

  1. Treatment of others with dignity and love.
  2. Devotion to the community college and its open door philosophy.
  3. Leadership in providing people with opportunities to enrich their lives.
  4. Love of education and belief in it potential to change lives.
  5. Desire to bring out the best in others.
  6. Commitment to do one's very best.

 Morris J. Lawrence Award Recipients

Year Recipient(s)
1994 Ezell Agnew, Ruth Hatcher
1995 Phyllis Bostwick, Connie Jenkins, Gladys Knoll
1996 Maxine Gibson
1997 Deborah Freeman, Alvin Roberts
1998 Jon Lockard
1999 Dennis Bila, Cornelieus Reeves, Robert Reeves
2000 Janet Hawkins, William Clark
2001 Don Garrett, Dan Minock
2003 Henry Townsend
2004 Dave Thomas, Sister Judith VanderVeen, and Dr. Calvin Williams
2008 John E. Lawrence
Swipe left to see full chart

Award of Merit Recipients

Take the
Next Step